The state required course includes six hours of in- car training. This six hour suggested minimum dates back to the 1930's when traffic was very light and the complications of our modern highway systems didn't exist.
However, even in this short course, Lord Ashley does a great job of teaching vehicle control skills to prepare students for their driving test and introducing them to the skills and attitudes needed to drive defensively. Many of our students do well with this course.
This popular course upgrade offers the opportunity for the student to start to develop the necessary habits needed to continue to use the material they learned in the State Minimum Course. Using our technique of Continuous Correct Practice, students are reminded of the necessary effort and commitment needed to develop the necessary skills and attitudes to remain-collision free. This course has the minimum behind-the-wheel time recommended by the American Driver Training and Safety Education Association (ADTSEA)
This course is much appreciated by those who want to excel as safe drivers as well as those who are a little apprehensive about driving because it continues the safe habit building process. Students choose this training to develop advanced observation and decision making skills much beyond that of the average driver. This course has the minimum behind-the-wheel time recommended by the National Highway Traffic Safety Administration (NHTSA)
aLord Ashley Driving School offers third-party knowledge/road testing under the authority of the South Carolina DMV. Knowledge / Road testing is available with an evaluator from aLord Ashley Driving School:
Students taking the road test with aLord Ashley Driving School take the test from one of three locations - Goose Creek, Mt. Pleasant, or Charleston. Mt. Pleasant and Charleston road tests are only scheduled on Saturdays, Sundays and holidays when the DMV offices are closed. Road tests are not regularly scheduled after 2pm on weekdays.
These lessons are primarily for those with some driving experience who want to get better and/or learn what is expected on the road test. We will always start by checking your ability to control the vehicle. After checking your control of the vehicle, we will proceed to traffic situations as the road test is given on actual roads, not a closed course. The next thing would be to teach you what is expected on the road test and how to perform all of the maneuvers correctly.
The self-paced nature of these lessons require communication between the student and instructor so the instructor can give an accurate assessment of your skills and better predict how many more lessons will be sufficient for you to achieve your goal of getting a driver's license.
Students under age 17, must have completed a course (8 hour classroom / 6 hours in-car) to be eligible for these lessons. South Carolina law requires 15 & 16 year old to have completed a course (8/6) in order to test for a license. We have had students from other schools who felt they were not ready for the road test take these courses. In such cases we would like to see the PDLA form from the other school to verify you are eligible.
After instructor approval, first-time license applicants who hold a South Carolina Learner's Permit may take the road test for an additional fee.
Most people learn to drive only one time their entire life. While you may think this will suffice, many people still use old driving theories and techniques. Many of these theories and practices were changed decades ago. One example of these practices is the hand positions of 10 and 2. This practice changed back when airbags were introduced into vehicles. Another example is the practice of having one car length of following distance for every ten miles per hour of speed you are traveling.
We recommend drivers continue to learn about the upcoming changes to the highway transportation system as well as update their knowlege of best practices. Driver education should be a continuous education system. Many insurance companies recognize this idea as well and often offer insurance discounts for taking defensive driver education courses. Sometimes, these discounts will more than pay for the costs associated with this class. Check with your insurance company to see if they offer such a discount.